NAPO Washington Report: April 14, 2014

Senator Klobuchar Introduces COPS Legislation 

On April 10, 2014, Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) introduced a bill to “amend the Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 to enhance the COPS ON THE BEAT grant program” (S.2254).  NAPO worked closely with Senator Klobuchar’s staff as the bill was drafted.  NAPO’s letter of support is attached to the end of this report.

This legislation will:

NAPO will continue to work closely with Senator Klobuchar and the House bill’s sponsor, Congressman Dave Reichert (R-WA), to ensure this important legislation is passed.

Read More


Membership Meeting Minutes for April 3

Ray Hunt called the meeting to order and led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance and prayer.

The meeting was dedicated to Sergeant Kent Kincaid who died in the line of duty on Saturday May 23, 1998. The dedication was read by Joe Galmaldi.

Ray welcomed all members and recognized District Clerk Chris Daniels, Keith Lawyer and Mike Sullivan who were in attendance.

Ray then introduced Laryssa Korduba who is a judicial candidate endorsed by the Union. Judge Korduba is seeking election to the Justice of the Peace office in Tomball, Pct#4 place 2. She spoke and thanked the Union for their support and asked for the membership to vote in the runoff election which will be on May 5th.

Read More


NAPO Washington Report: April 8, 2014

NAPO Victory – Excellence in Mental Health Act Signed Into Law

On April 1, 2014, President Obama signed into law a demonstration project of U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow's (D-MI) Excellence in Mental Health Act. Senator Stabenow's bipartisan legislation, introduced with Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO), expands access to community mental health services and strengthens the quality of care provided for those living with mental illness. "Today is the last step in enacting this landmark advance in community mental health funding, but it's just the first step on the road to making this program a reality in communities across the country," said Stabenow. "I look forward to working closely with the administration as they select and implement the demonstration projects funded by this legislation."

Read More


2nd Annual Guns 'N Hoses Event Sunday, April 27

The Houston Police Department will take on the Houston Fire Department for an exciting Guns 'N Hoses matchup immediately following the Houston Dynamo game Sunday, April 27 at 2pm at BBVA Compass Stadium. Proceeds benefit Houston Police Department "Assist the Officer Foundation" and Houston Fire Department "Firefighters Helping Firefighters."

Click to downolad the flyer.

For tickets, visit or contact:

Sean Foster


Andrew Jimenez

Read More


NAPO Washington Report: March 24, 2014

NAPO Cosponsors House and Senate Byrne-JAG Briefings

NAPO cosponsored two Congressional staff briefings on the Byrne Justice Assistance Grant (Byrne-JAG) Program on March 19, 2014.  The Byrne-JAG Program is the federal government’s cornerstone justice assistance grant program.  Grant funds reduce crime and victimization by supporting innovation and data-driven approaches in policing, community corrections, offender reentry, social services, substance abuse treatment and behavioral health services, pretrial diversion, juvenile delinquency prevention, anti-gang and anti-drug strategies, crime victim services, and much more.  The funding is informed by strategy planning conducted by the states’ criminal justice planning agency and success is measured through research and data analysis.
The following speakers provided information to House and Senate staffers on how Byrne-JAG supports state and local criminal justice systems and advances evidence-based practices in reducing crime and victimization:  Denise O’Donnell, Director, Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Assistance; Jeanne Smith, Executive Director, Colorado Division of Criminal Justice, Colorado Department of Public Safety; Michael McCabe, Undersheriff, Office of the Sheriff, Oakland County, Michigan; Karhlton Moore, Executive Director, Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services; and Mark Gwyn, Director, Tennessee Bureau of Investigations.
Both the House and Senate briefings were very successful.  We look forward to working with members of both chambers to support this important program.

Read More


NAPO Washington Report: March 17, 2014

Gary Blankinship Sworn-In as United States Marshal for the Southern District of Texas 

On March 12, 2014, Gary Blankinship was sworn-in as the United States Marshal for the Southern District of Texas.   Mr. Blankinship, a former TOP COPS Award® winner and Area Vice President of NAPO, has spent his career serving and protecting the citizens of Texas. 

Gary Blankinship has served in law enforcement for over 35 years. Mr. Blankinship was employed by the Houston Police Department from 1982-2012, where he worked in the position of Senior Police Officer.  Prior to his service with the Houston Police Department, Mr. Blankinship was employed by the Harris County Sheriff’s Department.  He also founded the Assist the Officer Foundation following the death of his partner to provide short-term, immediate financial assistance for officers critically injured or disabled in the line of duty. 

NAPO’s Executive Director, Bill Johnson, attended Mr. Blankinship’s swearing-in ceremony.  We hope you will join us in congratulating Mr. Blankinship!

Read More


Annual Stars and Stripes Charity Golf Tournament May 5

It’s time for the annual Stars and Stripes Charity Golf Tournament. Put together your best team and sign up to compete. If you know of anyone who would like to sponsor the tournament, please download the information below.

Tournament Flyer
Registration Information
Sponsorship Information

Read More


HPOU Union Dues for 2013

January 2013 - June 2013: $46.71 per month, $280.26

July 2013 - December 2013: $47.96 per month, $287.82

Special Dues Assessment(s): $0

TOTAL: $568.08

Read More


Membership Meeting Minutes for March 6

Minutes for the March 6, 2014 Membership Meeting.

Read More


Texas Police Trust to Host Benefits Fair

The Texas Police Trust will host a Benefits Fair Wednesday June 18th from 10am till midnight. We invite you to take this opportunity to review your coverage and receive valuable information about your HPOU, Texas Police Trust, HPOU 457 Savings Plan and other exciting new products.

Food and drink will be provided starting at 11:30 and will be served till midnight. We will also have many door prizes from our various vendors.

In addition to insurance we hope to have representatives from the Credit Union and other HPOU committees.  We will update you as the event comes together or visit

Read More



Results 1 - 10 of 432
Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 |